Weekly WOAH | Aug 28 – Sep 3

// Thursday, Aug 28

10603527_10152669811512767_5393304902647612824_n

// Friday, Aug 29 

Lee Scratch

Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry | at DEM Passwords

// Saturday, Aug 30

John Knuth | at Five car Garage

// Sunday, Aug 31 

at Bluewhale

Alexander Noice Sextet | at Bluewhale

// Tuesday, Sep 2 10617247_908220632523049_357598867_n

  • LA2050 challenge kicks-off today…. Please support our friends Experimental Half-Hour’s proposal to build LA’s first media lab!  Learn more about their vision to create a community audiovisual center & vote for LA MEDIA LAB here.
    Vote now through Sep 16

// Wednesday, Sep 3

// last-looks  

at 2A Gallery

Patrick Nagel at 2A Gallery

—Follow us to receive an email when Weekly WOAH posts.  Drop us a line to share your event.

Weekly WOAH | Aug 21-27

// Thursday, Aug 21 

Bill Plympton’s Cheatin’ | at Downtown Independent

// Friday, Aug 22

  • Workhorse

    telepathy with Workhorse | at Otherwild

    Workhorse Launch Party, at Otherwild, Echo Park.
    Performances by the online experiment & interactive public conversation, Workhorse & best friends (Mikki Olsen and Machina Mclaughlin), a screening by Aimee Goguen, & music by pyramid records.
    doors 7pm
    performances 8pm

  • Group Show: Opening, at Monte Vista Projects, Eagle Rock.
    Works by Christina Agapakis, Rita Blaik, Megan May Daalder, & Amisha Gadani explore the ‘un-closed’ through experimental videos, cavum prints, scientific illustrations, fragmented photos, & interactive fashion.
    Opening Reception: 7-10pm
    Through Sep 14

// Saturday, Aug 23 

// Sunday, Aug 24 

Kiki Seror

Kiki Seror | at CB1 Gallery

// Monday, Aug 25 

kleksploitation

Andy Votel’s Kleksploitation | at Cinefamily

  • Andy Votel presents: Kleksploitation, at Cinefamily, West Hollywood.
    US premiere of Kleksploitation, a tribute to ‘reconstituted cinematic synth-pop from Communist Poland’s deepest hallucinogenic hibernation period.’ Plus Votel live-remixes Andrzej Korzynski’s score for the three surreal children’s sci-fi flicks, Pan Kleks.
    9:30pm

// Tuesday, Aug 26 

Burn, Trapped, Wrath | at Human Resources

Burn, Trapped, Wrath | at Human Resources

// last-looks 

I Should Have Done Better And I Wish I Would Have, 2014

I Should Have Done Better And I Wish I Would Have | CMHHTD at Subliminal Projects

—Follow us to receive an email when Weekly WOAH posts.  Drop us a line to share your event.

Weekly WOAH | Aug 14-20

Thursday at MATA

// Thursday, Aug 14

 

// Friday, Aug 15 

throwback Celebrate Everything

throwback Baseck x Joy Through Noise (Twin Braids) | Celebrate Everything at Complex.

 

// Saturday, Aug 16

throwback Tonalism in Toronto June 2011 | Saturday at Sonos Studios

 

// Sunday, Aug 17

 

// Tuesday, Aug 19 

There Is No Beginning, There Is No End closing with Experimental Half-Hour screening.

There Is No Beginning, There Is No End closing with Experimental Half-Hour screening | at MATA

 

HarryDodge

still from The Time Eaters | at the Hammer

// Wednesday, Aug 20 

 

// last-looks 

at Regen

Berlin-based Manfred Pernice | at Regen Projects

—Opt-in for more Weekly WOAH by subscribing to our blog.  Drop us a line to share your event. 

Weekly WOAH | Aug 7-13

How-to’s alongside Algo-Rhythms at Sonos Studio

// Thursday, Aug 7

Draftpunk

// Friday, Aug 8

// Saturday, Aug 9 

Blacklisted at Adjunct Positions.

Blacklisted at Adjunct Positions.

// Sunday, Aug 10

// Tuesday, Aug 12

// Wednesday, Aug 13

// last-looks 

Animal Charm at China Art Objects.

Animal Charm at China Art Objects.

Weekly WOAH | July 31-Aug 6

Poltergeist at South of Sunset.

// Thursday, July 31

// Friday, Aug 1 

// Saturday, Aug 2

Dennis DeHart at SPOT Photo Works.

// Sunday, Aug 3 

Experimental Half-Hour’s 1-Hr at Made In LA.

// Monday, Aug 4 

image: throwback Jil Stein at homela | new performance at TOP40

image: throwback Jil Stein at homeLA | new performance at TOP40.

// Wednesday, Aug 6

// last-looks 

Openness and Clarity at Honor Fraser.

Openness and Clarity at Honor Fraser.

*Subscribe to our blog to receive an e-mail when new #whoa posts.  Drop us a line to share your event. 

Weekly WOAH | July 24-30

Tricia Lawless Murray Queen of Hearts at Cohen Gallery.

// Thursday, July 24

Marshtepper at Complex. Image: Jane Pain

Marshtepper at Complex.
Image: Jane Pain

// Friday, July 25

// Saturday, July 26

Ideal Territory at Cirrus Gallery.

  • KChung TV with Experimental Half-Hour at Made In LA, at the Hammer, Westwood.
    Produced through EHH, KChung Radio launches KChung TV before live audiences with episodes playing on-site during museum hours, and archived online at kchung.tv.  This week’s episode welcomes: CRYSTALLINE MORPHOLOGIES – Gabie Strong, POWER MALLET – Luke Fischbeck, and OUT OF THIS WORLD – Adam Taylor.
    12-5pm
  • Native Strategies: Issue #5 Music Issues, at LACE, Hollywood.
    Native Strategies: N (enter) S at LACE is a Native Strategies issue come to life within three-dimensional space. Throughout their residency, Native Strategies invites over 30 artists to perform in the LACE galleries and enact the process of producing a journal.
    1-2pm – Odeya Nini & Oscar Miguel Santos Boscar Bantos Sister Mantos)
    2-3pm – Dorian Wood & Claire Cronin.
  • Ideal Territory, at Cirrus Gallery, DTLA.
    Group show of works obliquely considering ‘territory’ itself—as domain, history, narrative, and site of comparison.  Curated by Elan Greenwald.
    Opening reception: 6-8pm
    Through Aug 16
  • The Cartographer, at Charlie James Gallery, Chinatown.
    Group show extending abstracted ideas of mapping. Works by Charles Gaines, Steve Roden, Joshua Segura, Alise Spinella, Clarissa Tossin, Cody Trepte, and Samira Yamin.  Curated by Alise Spinella.
    Opening reception: 7pm
    Through Aug 30
  • Instagram Mini-Marathon with Hans Ulrich Obrist, at Million Dollar Theater, DTLA.
    Panel with artists and insta-purveyors on how the virtual space pace provides for extending ideas and practices.  Moderated by Hans Ulrich Obrist.  Feat guests: boychild, Simon Castets, Meg Cranston, Michel Gaubert, Alex Israel, Niko Karamyan, Rachel Lor, John Ennis, Kevin McGarry, Ryder Ripps, & Frances Stark.
    7:30pm
  • Mike Kelley Closing Party, at The Geffen Contemporary at MOCA, DTLA.
    MOCA and the Mike Kelley Foundation for the Arts celebrate the closing of the exhibition.  Feat. live DJ sets by Psychopop, Friendzone, FUXUS, Dangel xxx, Jason Yates, and mr.imd with food trucks, cash bar & more!  Co-hosted by Opening Ceremony.
    6-10pm

    Adam Ferriss, Crystal Display, at Ghostings 1-Year.

    Adam Ferriss, Crystal Display (excerpt),  at Ghosting’s 1-Year.

  • Ghosting 1 Year Anniversary!, at Ghosting.tv HQ, DTLA.
    Videos:Andrew Benson, Ian Cheng, Jen Stark, Johnny Woods, Adam Ferriss, & many more; Music: Chrome Canyon, Telecaves, KrOn; Games: LA Game Space; 16mm films: Lost & Found Film Club; Food: Brun’s Creole Soul Kitchen
    8pm-2am
Patrick Nagel.

Patrick Nagel at 2A.

// Sunday, July 27

Mike Kelley, GET THERE!

Mike Kelley, GET THERE!

// Monday, July 28

// Tuesday, July 29

David Hendren at 5  Car Garage.

David Hendren at 5 Car Garage.

// Wednesday, July 30

// last-looks 

Weekly WOAH | July 17-23

Image: J J Steele. Chiara Giovando at Issue#5 at LACE.

// Thursday, July 17

throwback Korakrit Arunanondchai: The Zoo (Avatar).  New installation opens at The Mistake Room.

// Friday, July 18

// Saturday, July 19

Images: Fredrik Nilsen (co-founder of LAFMS), performs as Extended Organ at MOCA.

Anita Bunn’s 9 tone lithographs at Offramp Gallery.

// Sunday, July 20

// Monday, July 21

// Tuesday, July 22

// Wednesday, July 23

// last-looks 

Anthony Samaniego at Slow Culture.

*Subscribe to our blog to receive an e-mail when new #whoa posts.  Drop us a line to share your event.